What a wonderful year it has been! I was very fortunate to have added another grade level to my repertoire and discovered what “Differentiated Instruction” in a general education setting can do for your students! Thank goodness for last year’s Book Study of the Daily Five and Cafe, I was able to manage 32 students during a chopped up reading block! It was challenging to say the least, but after all the data analyzing and looking at the student’s performance, I am one-happy-camper!

This summer, I’ll be reading:  Leading and Managing a Differentiated Classroom, by Carol Ann Tomlinson and Marcia B. Imbeau. I have managed to invite three other fellow teachers to learn with me and I’m very excited to share our experiences in the classroom with each other! I will add their blog links here once they have set them up! 

On a personal note, let me share some great news! Last summer I announced that my youngest daughter had graduated from Florida International University with a degree in Early Childhood. I titled the post, “New Beginnings” because it was another milestone for our family. This summer’s first post is titled, “Summer Learning Begins” for another reason besides the book study. This summer my husband and I will be welcoming our first grandchild! We will be learning about our roles as grandparents and relish in all the blessings that are to come! 

Grandparents are a family’s greatest treasure, the founders of a loving legacy, The greatest storytellers, the keepers of traditions that linger on in cherished memory. Grandparents are the family’s strong foundation. Their very special love sets them apart. Through happiness and sorrow, through their special love and caring, grandparents keep a family close at heart. ~author unknown

Image

Mrs. Pelaez, AKA, Grandma Cessy

