Today I needed to come to terms with a decision that I made and was looking for encouragement from the moment I woke.  As a Christian, I had prayed about it through the night and remembering 2 Timothy 7:

God didn’t give us a cowardly spirit but a spirit of power, love, and good judgment.

I was determined to allow His Spirit take over me. Ironically, after starting up my computer and checking (what else?) my email and Facebook, I found another really good one, Psalm 27:14

Wait for the LORD; Be strong and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the LORD.

I had no choice…there they were,  “answers” to my prayers,  in the most obvious of places, my Facebook News Feed. Now, I know what you must be thinking, “You’re kidding right?” I mean, after all, I can see where one can think that it’s a bit of a stretch to see signs of God’s Mercy on Facebook, but in a peculiar way, I was desperate. You see, I was feeling uneasy about my decision.  I went about making my Cuban cafe and as I slowly came alive, I stumbled upon this other quote:

Do not anxiously hope for that which is not yet come; do not vainly regret what is already past.
-Proverb

SPLAT! (Me slamming against the computer screen!) OK! I GOT THE MESSAGE! I need to let go and let God and get to today’s business: D5 Book Study will be due tomorrow and I haven’t finished reading Ch. 4 yet! After checking other blogs, I realized that NO ONE else had been too eager to post ahead of time so I was safe…I still had time to read and reflect.

This week’s framing questions are:

1. In reflecting on your students’ work with these strategies, what can you celebrate at this point in the year?

As I read Laura’s post today (July 6th) from Tattling to the Teacher, (By the way, the picture came straight from her site!) I was happy to see that I wasn’t alone in being a “newbie” at D5 and she like me, couldn’t answer this question either.  I can’t reflect or celebrate any accomplishments thus far, but like Laura, my biggest concern is going to keep the students from getting up and changing books. This year I had students that picked a book (for the wrong reasons) and returned it back to the shelf a few seconds later, making the library a communal area to hang out with a buddy. I thought I was explicit when I told them that they had to read the whole book before changing it to a new one, but as I reflect I realize that I was doomed from the start for two reasons:

    • I didn’t have book bags or boxes for them to exchange from their picks.
    • I didn’t teach them how to PICK a book!

I had expectations that they would know the Three Ways to Read a Book, and what they were to do when they Read to Self   and without proper training of what they were supposed to do I can’t really blame them, can I?  Laura did a wonderful job explaining the steps in teaching our students the necessary steps in establishing good routines on her blog, so make sure that you click on the link for a step-by-step explanation in successfully implementing D5 at the beginning of the year. I actually scribbled and highlighted on my book something similar, but I’m so thankful that all I really need to do is “Linky”  over to her blog and I have the perfect cheat sheet.

  1. 2. How might you help your students continue to build stamina at this point?

Again, with school not being in session right now this is impossible to answer at this moment. What I can definitely share about stamina is that it is important to start S-L-O-W-L-Y and build up from the very first day. I haven’t really done that for my students before. I guess I just expected them to read until I was done with what ever else I was doing. I admit: I tried to use that time for small groups and or conferencing with students but most days, it felt that I was more preoccupied with re-directing students back to their seats with the book they had picked! Which brings me back to question #1!

Ay! Ya! Yay! I have my work cut out for me!!!!

Mrs. P

